Since 1989 at ICCG-9 (Sendai), the International Organization for Crystal Growth (IOCG) has sponsored two triennial prizes, the Frank Prize and the Laudise Prize. Beginning in 2004 at ICCG-14 (Grenoble), there was a new triennial IOCG prize, the Schieber Prize, sponsored by the Journal of Crystal Growth. These prizes consist of a commemorative item plus an invitation and financial support to present the work, which is the subject of the award, at the ICCG meeting at which the award takes place. The winners are expected to deliver invited talks during the conference.

Frank and Laudise Prizes

The IOCG Frank Prize is awarded for significant fundamental (not necessarily theoretical) contributions to the field of crystal growth. The IOCG Laudise prize is presented for significant technological (not necessarily experimental) contributions to the field of crystal growth. Both awards are made for outstanding contributions to the field of crystal growth through technical achievements, publications and presentations and through their impact world wide on science and technology.

Schieber Prize

The IOCG Schieber prize is awarded to a young author to recognize his or her outstanding scientific publications in the field of Crystal Growth. The prize shall be awarded to one person who is an early career worker. The publications for which the award is made should consist of a paper or series of papers, published prior to the opening of that ICCG. The criteria for selection should be scientific excellence, clarity of presentation and impact on the field of crystal growth.

Previous recipients were:

Year Conference Venue Frank Prize Laudise Prize Schieber Prize
2016 ICCGE-18 Nagoya Gerald Stringfellow Chung-wen Lan Alexander Van Driessche
2013 ICCGE-17 Warsaw Katsuo Tsukamoto Chuang-Tian Chen Yuki Kimura
2010 ICCG-16/ICVGE-14 Beijing Martin E. Glicksman James J. DeYoreo, Nataliya P.Zaitseva, Leonid N. Rashkovich Victor Maltsev
2007 ICCG-15/ICVGE-13 Salt Lake City Vladimir Voronkov J. Brian Mullin Verònica Bermùdez
2004 ICCG-14/ICVGE-12 Grenoble G. Comsa T. Nishinaga J. Goniakowski
2001 ICCG-13/ICVGE-11 Kyoto D.T.J. Hurle and S.R. Coriell Georg Müller Not Established
1998 ICCG-12/ICVGE-10 Jerusalem K.A. Jackson I. Akasaki Not Established
1995 ICCG-11 The Hague P. Bennema R.S. Feigelson Not Established
1992 ICCG-10 San Diego R.F. Sekerka V.V. Osiko and J.F. Wenckus Not Established
1989 ICCG-9 Sendai A.A. Chernov J. Nishizawa Not Established

Template design by Six Shooter Media.