ICCG-13 Kyoto, 2001

Report on the Meetings of the IOCG Executive Committee, Council and General Assembly held during ICCG-13/ICVGE-11 in Kyoto, Japan 30 July-4 August 2001

The IOCG Executive Committee, Council and General Assembly were held respectively on 31 July, 1 and 2 August 2001. The following items were approved:

- 1. The offers made by the American Association for Crystal Growth to hold ICCG-15 during 2007 and to hold ISSCG-13 during the same year should be accepted. It was strongly recommended that these two events should be closely held both in time and in location.
- 2. The President and Executive Committee should be asked to explore ways of raising funds to increase the IOCG activities, including the formation of internet communication system and to make necessary amendments to the IOCG Constitution.
- 3. The Treasurer's Report, presented by C.F. Woensdregt, should be accepted. The account was on 22 June 1998 as 9708.90 SFr. The expenditures have been requested 411.25 SFr for two year subscription to IUPAC and tax for three years. Interest on the account had less than compensated for this expenditure so that the current balance is 9678.55 SFr.
- 4. The following slate of Officers, the Executive Committee Members and Councilors be elected for the period 2001–2004 to hold office from the end of ICCG-13 though ICCG-14; the list includes five Councilors elected from the floor of the General Assembly to represent those who do not, as yet, have a national association.

Officers President: Vice President:

Secretary: Treasurer: Past President: Honorary Principal Founder IOCG: R.F. Sekerka (USA) K.W. Benz (Germany) J.P. Van der Eerden (The Netherlands) T.F. Kuech (USA) T. Ohachi (Japan) T. Nishinaga (Japan) M. Schieber (Israel)

Executive Committee T. Duffar (France) R. Fornari (Italy) Jiang Min-Hua (China) G. Mueller (Germany) V.V. Osiko (Russia) M. Roth (Israel) K. Sato (Japan) J.N. Sherwood (United Kingdom)

Ex-officio members of the executive committee

President ICCG-13 T. Nishinaga (Japan) Chairman ICCG-14 J. Villain, M. Heuken IOCG Representative to IUPAC J.N. Sherwood (United Kingdom) IOCG Representative to IUCRYS P.M. Dryburgh (United Kingdom) IOCG Representative to IUPAP J.P. Van der Eerden (The Netherlands) IUPAC Representative to IOCG to be appointed **IUCRYS** Representative to IOCG R. Fornari (Italy) IUPAP Representative to IOCG J. Buttrey (USA)

ICCG-13 Kyoto, 2001

Councillors (a) Representing National Associations Australia: G. Parkinson Brazil: R. Caram China: Czech Republic: K. Nitsch France: Germany: Hungary: K.P. Lassanyi India: Israel: Italy: R. Fornari Japan: Korea: The Netherlands Poland: A. Pajaczkowska Romania: H.V. Alexandru Russia: J.M. Garcia-Ruiz Spain: Switzerland: H.J. Scheel United Kingdom: USA (b) Representing General Assembly

Argentina: Bulgaria: Mexico: Scandinavia: Singapore: G. Parkinson R. Caram M. Jiang, S. Fan, J. Wang K. Nitsch P. Nozieres B. Billia, A. Ranguis L. Ackermann, A. Luedge, M. Heuken K.P. Lassanyi P. Ramasamy, R. Dhanasekaran M. Roth, A. Horowitz R. Fornari S. Kimura, K. Kitamura, Y. Furukawa K.H. Auh, K.C. Shin, K.B. Shim J.W.M. Frenken, H. Kramer A. Pajaczkowska H.V. Alexandru V.V. Osiko, P.P. Fedorov, F.A. Kuznetsov J.M. Garcia-Ruiz H.J. Scheel J.N. Sherwood, P. Capper, D.T.J. Hurle V. Fratello, G.B. Stringfellow, J.J Derby

C.E. Schvezov C. Nanev A. Moreno H.E.L. Madsen X.Y. Liu

Ex-officio councillors representing international	unions
ICSU:	JF. Stuyck-Taillandier (France)
IUCr:	M.H. Dacombe (United Kingdom)
IUPAP:	Rene Turlay (France),
IUPAC:	W.J. Jost (USA)

IOCG representatives to international unionsIUPAP:J.P. van der Eerden (The Netherlands)IUPAC:J.N. Sherwood (United Kingdom)IUCr:P.M. Dryburgh (United Kingdom)

The General Assembly also recorded:

a. The award of the IOCG Prizes, generously sponsored by the ICCG-13 / ICVGE-11 Organizing Committee as follows:

Joint Frank Prize D.T.J. Hurle (UK) and S. Coriell (USA)

Laudise Prize G. Mueller (Germany)

b. Votes of thanks to: (i) the Japanese Association for Crystal Growth and the Organizing Committees of ICCG-13 / ICVGE-11 and ISSCG-11 for their excellent hosting of the present

ICCG-13 Kyoto, 2001

triennial meetings; (ii) the IOCG Prize Nominating Committee; (iii) the retiring Officers and Executive Committee members of IOCG and (iv) the French Association for Crystal Growth and the German Association for Crystal Growth respectively for their advance information and welcome to ICCG-14(Grenoble, France) and ISSCG-12(Berlin, Germany) both in 2001.

Other point noted were as follows:

- (a) A standard ICCG of acceptance for any National Association for Crystal Growth to organize ICCG is that the Conference Proceedings are published in the Journal of Crystal Growth and that the reports on the IOCG Business Meetings are published at the end of such proceedings.
- (b) All National Association chairman should submit annually to the President (IOCG)1 and the Secretary (IOCG)2:
- (1) names and addresses of current officers
- (2) numbers of current members
- (3) a short report (one page A4) on their annual meetings(s)

T. Nishinaga

President (1998–2001), Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Faculty of Science and Technology, Meijo University, 1-501 Shiogamaguchi, Tenpaku-ku, Nagoya 468-8502, Japan E-mail address: nishinag@meijo-u.ac.jp (T. Nishinaga)

¹President (2001–2004) Robert F. Sekera, Professor, Department of Physics, 6416 Wean Hall, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA 15213, USA. E-mail address: rs07@andrew.cmu.edu

²Secretary (2001–2004) Tom F. Kuech, Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Wisconsin, 1415 Engineering Drive Madison, WI 53706, USA. E-mail address: kuech@engr.wisc.edu